Sunday, February 16, 2014

Dog and Butterfly by John Philip Riffice Book Review

Overview:

From John Philip Riffice, critically acclaimed author of Waiting For Pops, comes a poignant story of fate and the beguiling art of moving on. After his brother’s untimely passing, Cam Freeland takes in his sister-in-law and four year-old nephew, Charlotte and Jimmy, just until they get on their feet and find a place of their own. But that day never comes. Cam enjoys having them in his life, and they enjoy being there. Cam raises Jimmy almost as though the boy were his son, forming a bond of love, respect, and friendship that will last beyond a lifetime. In doing so, young Jimmy slowly discovers that his uncle Cam is far nobler than he could have ever imagined, a stand-up guy in every respect.

Except one. Cam has a skeleton in his closet, one which shames him terribly, and fate calls on Jimmy to investigate further. He does, and the secret he uncovers surprises him. And so does the next. And the next after that. But the biggest revelation of all lies in Jimmy’s discovery that fate controls every aspect of his life and that there are no accidents and there are no coincidences, just as Uncle Cam had always told him.

My Review:

This was a terrific and easy read.

The author takes you to Oklahoma and introduces you to the Freeland Family.  Jimmy and his Mother Charlotte are faced with unplanned circumstances when her husband and Jimmy's father, Billy passes away. They move in with his brother, Cam as a temporary respite.  Unbeknownst at the time, Uncle Cam is exact what Charlotte and Jimmy need.

The author does a terrific job with his writing.  You are able to stay focused in the story.  This story could easily have been someone's life.  It's nice to read a book that you could actually imagine the story line happening.

This is a great book and I highly recommend it!

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy for my review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in anyway.



Friday, February 14, 2014

The Treasure of Snake Island: A Captain No Beard Story by Carole P. Roman

Overview:

After a fierce battle with a storm, the crew goes in search of treasure. Alexander, that is, Captain No Beard uses a map to locate it on the ominous sounding Snake Island. Bravely they dig until they find the best treasure ever!

My Review:

This is an absolutely adorable book!  This was our first Captain No Beard book and the book is terrific!  The illustrations are colorful and detailed.

On this voyage, you will get to meet First Mate Hallie, Mongo the Monkey, Captain No Beard, Polly the parrot, Fribbet the Frog, Cabin Girl Cayla, and Linus the Lion.

I love the treasure that they find on Snake Island!

This was a delightful book and it would be great for your child's library!

My oldest read it to my youngest and it kept their attention.  This would be a great book for all ages.

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy of the book for our review.  All opinions are our own and not influenced in any way.

Ziggersnout by Dale Rensing Book Review

Overview:

A picture book for early readers, Ziggersnout is a story about a little boy learning to skate who finds that things are not as easy as he thinks, but learns to persevere. With the help of the rink manager and the dragon who lives under the ice, Eric discovers that hope, faith and desire can work magic

My Review:

This is a great book for beginning readers.  My Mother-in-law read this book to my youngest today.  J was pointing at pictures and sat through the whole 20 something odd pages.

This would be great in a children's library, your own child's library, and classrooms.  I think all ages can relate to this story.

The illustrations are very detailed and colorful and in the short book, Eric learns a very important life lesson.

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy of the book for our review.  All opinions are our own and not influenced in anyway.

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Is Sunday School Destroying Our Kids by Samuel C. Williamson Book Review

Overview:

People in the world often reject Christianity simply because they can't distinguish it from mere morality. The world needs morality--oppression thrives when consciences are abandoned--but we need more than that alone. We need the gospel of grace. A gospel that has largely been lost amid the dos and don'ts and preoccupations of religious culture.

12 Essays on the Distinction Between Grace and Morality
Includes perspectives on topics such as:
  • Why Do Our Children Leave the Church?
  • Graceless Goodness: The Problem with Moralism
  • The False Gospel of "Just Do It"
  • The Temptations of Christian Publishing
  • The Ugliness of Religious Righteousness
  • The Insidious Danger of "I'd Never Do That"
  • We Read the Bible the Wrong Way
My Review:

This was honestly one of the most thought provoking books I have read in awhile.  I really appreciate the fresh perspective the author provides.

Here is one of the questions that are asked in this book.  "If Grace Is True, Why Be Moral"?

I will leave you with that thought provoking question.

This book is a must read for anyone who walks and struggles daily in the Christian faith. This won't be a quick read.  This is a very thought provoking book. 

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in any way.



Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Bounce Back by Julie Clinton Book Review and Giveaway!!

Overview:

Each of us wants to feel God's presence more in our lives. We want to be able to let go of the past. To find more joy in each day. And to be free to be who we really are without criticism or limitation.
Julie Clinton knows from her own life and from the stories of thousands of women she has talked with across the country that what many of us want most is hope. We want to know: Is there really a way forward when I can't see past the pain right now?

In Bounce Back, Julie offers three steps to a more hope-filled life: breath, believe, and bounce back.
You can rediscover your strength, your joy, and your true identity. You can bounce back.

My Review:

This author did a great job with this book.  The stories that are shared in the book are reminders that we are not alone in our journey and so many of our fellow women have been through ups and downs and tragedies and loss.

Some great reminders are:

 - God does not desire that any person be lonely
 - God desires that we turn to him when we feel lonely.
 - God desires that we love others.
 - Foregiveness is a command God expects each of us to obey.

This book would be great in a bible study or small group.  This book would also be great just as a personal read for someone who needs to rediscover themselves and find the strength they need to overcome.

The publisher and author as been gracious enough to offer a copy of the book for one of our lucky readers!

Thank you to Worthy Publishing First Look Blog Tour for the complimentary copy for our review and the giveaway copy for a lucky winner!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, February 10, 2014

Candle Bedtime Bible - Three, Five and Ten-Minute Stories

Overview:

There’s always time for a story with the Candle Bedtime Bible! Coded for easy reference, forty favorite Bible stories are each timed to be told in three, five, or ten minutes. With plain language and gentle illustrations, this Bible is perfect for a peaceful story time.

My Review:

We recently had the opportunity to review the "Candle Bedtime Bible - Three, Five and Ten-Minute Stories".

My youngest loves stories and books so we have spent hours with this book.  I think the illustrations are perfect for little ones and based on how long your little one will last through a story, having them in various versions is great.

In the table of contents, it lists each story, the page it starts on and what length the story is.

Even my oldest has read the book and also reads it to our youngest.  The binding has held up really well considering it's been all over the house.

I highly recommend this book.  It would make a great gift, addition to child's library, Sunday School classroom, or church library.

Thank you to Kregel Publications for providing us with a complimentary copy for our review.  However, all opinions are strictly my own and not influenced in anyway.

Prime of Life by P.D. Bekendam

Overview:

Ben used to be a cardiothoracic surgeon before he suddenly abandoned his career and became a janitor at a retirement facility. Now, other than dealing with minor problems such as an unhealthy obsession with prime numbers, an inept boss, and a feud between two cantankerous retirees, he lives a relatively stress-free life. There is even hope for romance when an attractive podiatrist shows an interest in him.

But it is not long before his past catches up with him and his carefully protected world begins to unravel. He is forced to face deep issues about life, love, and God head-on, rather than hide behind his cleaning cart.

My Review:
I was able to knock out this book within three hours!  I found the book to be a very quick read.
The author introduces you to Ben, who is a former Cardiothoracic surgeon, now turned janitor at a retirement community. Ben was on a journey to find a simpler plan for his life.   He was able to keep his former life under wraps until a resident was able to uncover his past career.
As you read through the book, you are introduced to several other characters in the book.  The author does a terrific job describing each character and you can easily picture each one of them, including the cantankerous Frank.   
More of Ben's past comes out when a new resident has a picture of her niece on her refrigerator....
The ending is truly endearing as his life comes full circle and he realizes that God really does care for all of us.
Thankfully he was able to realize it before it was too late.
Thank you to Worthy Publishing First Look Book Tour for allowing me to review this book.

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

If You Were Me and Lived in Turkey by Carole P. Roman

Overview:

Number four in a series of world culture, If You Were Me and Lived in... Turkey, explores cultural differences through a child's understanding. A respectful and lively treatment of the subtle differences of the people from different parts of the globe we share. Join Carole P.Roman as she travels to learn out the people, culture, and customs of the people Turkey.
 
My Review:
 
I really enjoy these books.  They are a terrific way for your children or students to learn about other countries.  They are written in a format that is easy to understand.
 
Until I read the book, I never realized that Istanbul sits on two continents!
 
The author does an awesome job writing these books.  These are a MUST for any child's library or classroom.
 
Thank you to the author for providing me with a complimentary copy of the book for my honest review!
 
 

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY!! Food Triggers: End your cravings, Eat well and Live Better by Rhona Epstein, Psy.D



Overview:

A licensed psychologist and certified addictions counselor, Epstein brings insights learned through her own battle with addictive eating to deliver tangible action steps to overcome eating issues. It is written for people who are currently battling an unhealthy relationship with food. Food Triggers is full of practical applications from Scripture, genuine compassion and true stories of struggle and success. This book helps readers understand that addictive eating is a physical, emotional and spiritual problem that must be addressed on all three levels in order to achieve true freedom. Food Triggers isn’t just another diet book; it is truly a food addict’s roadmap to the Promised Land—the land of success, peace and total freedom

My Review:

The author shares her own personal story in this book.  For me, when someone is giving advice and suggestions, whether it be to an audience or to a friend, they had better went through it. If they haven't, then they really can't say they understand, because unless they had, there is no way I will take advice or suggestions from them.

For someone dealing with food cravings or eating disorders, the author gives a lot of great resources (Biblical) and medical. 

I do not have compulsive food cravings however there is a lot of information for anyone who is trying to lose weight and get some understanding to what could be causing the cravings we all have.

The book was very well written and I think it would be a great resource to others. 

Thank you to Worthy Publishing for providing me with a complimentary copy for my review and for a giveaway.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in any manner.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Lolly: From Fishing to Fashion by Jeff Stewart

Overview:

March of Time and Skin author Jeff Stewart navigates us through the start, deconstruction, and rebirth of Lolly Clothing, the salvation from the bottom of survival to the methods of their success. Told in a beautifully raw, stripped-down style, Lolly: From Fishing to Fashion, Reeling in an Unlikely Fashion Success takes us through the insides of the fashion company and their people with humor, heartbreak, and prose that introduce the fashion process through the world of the writer; moving us along from the effects of guts and consequences to the cathedral of Lolly, and the power of never listening to the odds.

My Review:

This has been one of the most unique books I have read in a long time.  The format is different and told more of in a first person format.

In this book you will learn about Jeff Stewart and his journey in life.  During a brief conversation with two strangers, Todd and Lori Kimball, a new friendship is formed and Jeff Stewart is taken on a road he never expected.

The story behind Lolly and Chris and Todd Kimball is plain and simple.  A dream, a desire, and ambition. 

The author did a terrific job telling this story.  During the book, the author also talks about his van that has almost saw it's last day.  We've all been there with a vehicle, that well, has already served it's time.  He also talks about his dog Chico, who in a sense, is his best friend.

I had to wait on my husband's vehicle to be repaired so I took the book with me.  I was at the dealership for three hours and I was able to read the book front to back.  It was really hard to put down.

Thank you to the author, Jeff Stewart, for providing me with a complimentary copy of the book.  I am now a fan of his books.  I look forward to reading more.  My opinion was in no way influenced.  All opinions are my own.

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Finding Arun by Marisha Pink

Overview:

If you live your whole life being who everybody else wants you to be, how do you know who you really are?

Nineteen-year-old Aaron Rutherford is already reeling from the loss of his mother, when the unexpected revelation of a dark secret from her past changes his world forever.

Forced to question everything that he has ever believed, should he simply follow the path that has been laid out for him, or will pursuing the truth help him to find what has always been missing?

As the tangled web of lies unfolds and uncertainty takes over, a startling chain of events are set in motion that will see Aaron make the journey of a lifetime to discover not only who he really is, but ultimately who he wants to be.

My Review:

Finding Arun was truly a book that you could not put down once you started reading it!

The detail the author puts into the book is terrific.  It's not too much that you think enough is enough.  It's just the right amount.  The author's words are vivid and you can easily imagine yourself in the story.  For example, "The warmth of the sun's rays gently caressed Aaron's eyelids through the window and even with his eyes closed he could see the hazy yellow and orange hue of the morning."

Imagine yourself in Aaron's shoes.  You think you know everything about your life then something happens and your whole world is turned upside down.  How would you feel? This novel will have you from the first word until the last.

During the cold weather that is taking over the US right now, this is a perfect time to grab a hot cup of your favorite beverage, cover up with a warm (maybe two) blankets and read Finding Arun.

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy of the book for my honest review.  All opinions are my own and not influenced in any way. 



Negotiating When Money Matters by Lynnette Hartwig

Overview:

Negotiating When Money Matters provides a low-stress, ethical way to get the best price. Contemplating a home improvement or repair? Dread the hassle, hate wondering if you've been overcharged? Most of us aren't Do-It-Yourselfers. The typical homeowner spends $4,000 per year on home improvement. If you own a home, you are on the verge of needing repairs or getting an upgrade; when or what is TBD.

To get the best price, you don't need to know their job or outsmart them. You just need to know what factors cause the price to go up and sidestep those. Find out the surprising thing you can do, taking about an hour of your time, that makes your chosen contractor give a competitive, honest price.

This delightfully juicy book covers the Three Things Businesses Value More Than Money, the 10 risk factors that increase the price, and how the payment schedule determines whether the job is done on time, or done at all.

Keeping yourself out of the overcharged group is easier than you think. It makes you a double winner, because customers who get a fair price are also more likely to get good work. 

My Review:

This is a great reference book to keep on hand!

The author gives practical advice that is in easy to understand language.

One of the chapters that is a must for everyone to read is "The Ten Kinds of Risk"

1.  Customer
2.  Logistics
3.  Installations
4.  Product
5.  Legal
6.  Environment
7.  Adjacent
8.  Design
9.  Safety
10. End of job

This is one of those books that is chock full of information and a must read for anyone who is planning on having any contractor work done.

Thank you to the author for providing me with a complimentary copy of the book for my review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in anyway.

Perfect by David Rex Gosnell

Overview:

Jesus had an intimate relationship with His Father. Jesus pointed out that “the Father and I are one” (John 10:30), and He prayed that His followers would have that same closeness with the one who loved them. Jesus desires that we all build a personal relationship with our heavenly Father.

Do you long for a closer walk with God? If so, then Perfect* can show you how to establish and develop an intimate relationship with Him. Join pastor and teacher David Rex Gosnell on an awe-inspiring journey though the Model Prayer, also called the Lord’s Prayer, and learn why Jesus stressed this prayer as the key to communicating with God.

With warmth and grace, Gosnell uses experiences from his own life to illustrate why prayer is so essential to our relationship with God. He draws on key verses in the Bible to show the numerous times Jesus urged his disciples to turn to prayer, proving that there was a direct connection between Jesus’ prayers and God’s power. Each chapter includes a summary and questions for further reflection and personal or group study.

My Review:

This is a very nicely written book. 

This book would be great for a bible study, a small group get together, or for an individual who is wanting to start this new year afresh and start a new walk with their faith.

There is a chapter summary at the end of each chapter and separate questions for either group or personal study.

If you know someone who is a new believer or even a believer who has been walking in their faith for a long time, this would be a great book for them.  Would make a great Valentines or Easter gift.

Thank you to the author for providing me a complimentary copy of the book for my honest review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in any way.

Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Homespun Humor by David Yale

Overview:

This winning combination of very funny puns and clever satire is the latest collection of wordplays from Champion punster David R. Yale, whose earlier book, Pun Enchanted Evenings, won the 2011 Global eBook Award for humor.

Yale's collection of 823 wildly original word plays includes droll daffynitions that turn your understanding of common words insight out, and playful pun stories with priceless PUNchlines.

Covering almost every subject from airplanes to zoology, Yale's puns about doctors, relationships, cats & dogs, lawyers, teenagers, food, knights, Greek gods, writers, farmers, bankers, politics -- and lots more -- guarantee a full 1,000 gigglebytes of belly laughs.

In addition to Yale's puns, and information on new scientific studies proving the mental superiority of punsters, HomesPun Humor showcases the work of 16 of the world's best punsters, including O. Henry Pun-Off, Punderdome®, and Punsr champs! 

My Review:

This is one of the most original books I have ever read!

The word plays the author has included in this book are to say the least thought provoking!  More than once I caught myself reading the words out loud as we pronounce them to make sure I was on the same thought process as the author.  It is a great way to work your mind!

I recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a light read.

Here are some excerpts:

"He never got a boo-quet"

"Next thing she'll have her own aukestra"

"He put a stu dent in the car"

"He really needed a self phone"

Thank you to the author for providing us with a complimentary copy of the book for my review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in anyway.

The True End of Money And The Path To Free by Derek M. McGowan II

Overview:

Not a tale of utopia, instead this story follows the ordinary lives of nine men and women, over a 150 year time span, as they produce, control or are influenced by two very important inventions and the laws surrounding them which change the environment enough that we are finally able to ask the question:
Is it time that we end capitalism?

My Review:

This was one of the most unique books that I have read in a long time.

This is a long book to read at 729 pages. 

The author does a good job describing the characters in the book.

The book was ok.  There are ideas that are definitely controversial but they are thought provoking.

Thank you to the author for providing me with the book for my review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in anyway.



T-Bone the Flying House by Janice Virant

Overview:

Poor T-Bone is a failed racehorse who spends time alone in his stall, wishing that he could be special. Little does he know that a lonely, loving girl who adopts him is about to make his dreams come true in a way he could never have imagined. The power of their bond creates a completely unexpected surprise! Join T-Bone and his friend as they enjoy an exciting adventure made possible by happiness and love. Adults and children alike will cherish this rhyming tale about the ways in which friends change each other’s lives.

My Review:

T-Bone is very sad and lonely until one day he is adopted.  His life changes and he receives magical wings.  Then he and his friend can travel all around the world.

This is a delightful story about a young girl and a horse who are both lonely. 

The illustrations are bright and colorful.

This is really a nice book and would be a great addition to your favorite child's library.

Thank you to the author for providing me with a copy of the book for our honest review.  All opinions are my own and are not influenced in anyway.


Monday, January 6, 2014

Kurt, Gert, Jazmine, and Bagel by Irene Dolnick

Overview:

BRR! Ouch! Jazmine gasped as she faced life alone and without friends. Enjoy her adventures with Kurt, Gert, and Bagel as they discover friendships together.

My Review:

This is a really cute and thought out book.  The illustrations are cute, the story line teaches a great lesson and it's also teaches phonics. 

Since this is also a teaching tool, the story is harder to follow then just reading a book without the phonics.

This book would be a nice addition to any young readers library!

Thank you to the author for providing a copy to us for our review.  All opinions are our own and not influenced in any way.



There Once Was a Man From The USA - 50 State Limericks

Overview:

There Once Was A Man From the U.S.A. is a book of limericks about each of the fifty states in alphabetical order. The book contains several illustrations from the talented Victoria Rose Weiss. Many of the limericks have very little connection with the states mentioned but some are directly related to several of the others. Although it may seem simplistic to use the same rhyme scheme, it turned out to be much harder than one would think. Try rhyming words with Massachusetts, (not that's something that you would normally do) and you might find it more difficult than you would imagine. If you are a child, a teen or a geographically challenged adult who needs an easy way to remember the fifty states, this may be the book for you.

My Review:

I was really excited to get this book as after I finished the review, I had planned on donating it to my children's school as I thought it would be a great learning resource.  Especially since this was written by a former Social Studies teacher.

Unfortunately I will not be donating the book nor did I allow my oldest to read the book.

There are some inappropriate wording that maybe more suited to adults.  This book needs to be retitled to the adult audience and not to children.

Here is the first two limericks in the book:

ALABAMA: 

There once was a sorority girl from Alabama
Proud member of Phi Delta Gamma
Boyfriend Billy Bob
Was a fat, cheating slob
So she finished him off with a hammer

ALASKA:

There once was a man from Alaska
Whose marriage was a great disaster
"Do this and do that,
Treats me worse than a rat"
He mumbled while trying to blast her

This is not appropriate for children nor an educational/fun way for them to learn facts about each state.

I will not recommend this book at all.  I really had more hopes for this book.

Thank you to the author for providing me with a complimentary copy.  All views are my own and not influenced in anyway.







99 Stories From The BIble by Juliet David

Overview:

Following the narrative of the Bible, this collection of 99 stories starts with At the Beginning, and covers a wide variety of key events, including Samuel Listens, Esther, A Blind Man Sees, and Jesus Walks on the Lake, through to One Day Jesus Will Return. Each story is told over a double page spread with vibrant illustrations and some full page art.

My Review:

This is a nicely thought out bible story book for preschoolers and younger children.  The stories are short and to the point and considering the age group this book is geared to, it holds their attention.

My youngest enjoys listening to the stories and the illustrations are bright and get their attention.

 This book would be a great addition to your child's library, the Sunday School library, a gift for your favorite younger reader, or a great Preschool story time book.

I've seen other reviews that state there are not 99 stories in the book or index.  I have counted the titles four times and each time I come up with 99.  So I'm not sure what the difference is.  Not every story covers two pages.  Some stories are one page and others use two pages to tell one story.  This book lies flat which makes it easy to lay down if you are using it as a devotional or laying it on a table while you are reading it.

Thank you to Kregel Publications for providing me with a complimentary copy of the book for my review.


How The Octopus Got Eight Arms

Overview:

When Oscar Octopus meets—and is smitten by—the lovely Sharkey McGhee, they begin to date: strolling the ocean floor arm in arm, dining out, and going to the movies. Shortly after their fairy tale wedding, they are blessed by eight offspring. The trouble is that Oscar doesn’t have enough arms to hold them all! In this delightfully illustrated book, you’ll discover how Oscar adjusts to the demands of family life…and how the octopus got eight arms!

My Review:

This book is a great myth book!  As an adult, you must remember that when you are reading the book.  I agree with other reviewers that this is a great way to teach children (ages 5 - 9) about myths.

In this book you will be introduced to Oscar Octopus (a octopus), who only has two arms.  He meets Sharkey McGhee (a shark) and they fall in love.

Soon afterwards they have a family and when Sharkey has to leave due to a family emergency, Daddy (Oscar) is left to care for their eight children. 

What happens next will explain to the younger children how octopuses got eight arms. (Remember it is a myth).

At times I would love to have four arms....six extra arms would be great!!

This is a cute book and the children will enjoy the illustrations.

Thank you to the author for providing me with a complimentary copy of the book for my review.



Rator Ravine by James Butler

Overview:

Raptor Ravine is an adventure novel with the heart of E.T. and the tension of Jurassic Park set in the Oregon Coast Mountains. A boy fleeing a cougar attack falls into an ancient ravine and returns home with a mysterious new pet. The creature causes conflict in his family and entanglements with his friends as they struggle to care for it and find out what it is. Native American friends stir emotions with legends of a spirit beast that haunts the ravine. But when a paleontologist identifies it as something related to the dinosaur age, family and friends join together in the fight to protect the creature and
 its home. It takes a heroic stand by the boy in a primeval forest to convince the owner of the ravine it must be saved from exploitation and disaster.

My Review:

This review is by my oldest and in their own words:

"AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME"

"I loved the book.  At first it sounded realistic then as went on reading it switched to fantasy because of the creature.  I like the entire story just by itself and that the story uses different types of story elements.  I think kids 9+ should read the book."

Once my oldest started reading the book, F finished the book within three hours from beginning to end.

F gave it "5 STARS".  Definitely a great book for boys and girls.

Thank you to the author for sending us a copy of the book for our honest review.



Where Are The Christians by Eric Shuster

Overview:

Eric Shuster has dedicated his writing career to building bridges of understanding between Christians. His first book, "Catholic Roots, Mormon Harvest," chronicles the faith journey of he and his wife, including the respectful comparison of dozens of doctrines between Catholicism and Mormonism. His second book, "The Biblical Roots of Mormonism" (coauthored with Charles Sale), provides a common scriptural platform for Christians to better understand Mormon doctrine using over 1,000 scriptural references from the Bible. Mr. Shuster's latest book is "Where are the Christians: the Unrealized Potential of a Divided Religion" which examines the past, present and future of Christianity while challenging readers to reflect upon their own spirituality in Jesus Christ. 

My Review:

I really enjoyed reading this book and working along in the workbook.  Mr. Shuster has taken the time to do thorough research.  I never realized there were over 33,000 churches in the world!  That is amazing!

If you are waiting to future learn about different denominations, learn the difference between departing, adequate, hesitant and laboring Christians, then this is the book for you.

You will definitely want to get the workbook to go along with this book. 

Thank you to Cedar Fort Publishing for allowing me to review this book in return for my honest review.






Sunday, January 5, 2014

Changes to the blog

Over the next few weeks you will be noticing some changes to both our review policies as well as to the name of the blog.

Soon you will no longer see http://tryingtobeafrugalmomma.blogspot.com.  We will be changing our name to "www.FrugalMaggie.com.

Once that happens, I will post it on here.

Thank you to everyone for your support, your generosity in sending books to us to review, sending products for us to review, and for allowing us to promote your business on my blog.

Happy New Year!

My Pack - Burney the Hollywood Puppy by Walter F. Todd

Overview:

Meet Burney, a shih tzu puppy who was born in Minnesota and sold to a Beverly Hills pet store. He misses his pack-mates but quickly forms a new bond with Stacey, the aspiring actor who purchases him from the pet store. With his new pack-mate, Burney experiences the joy and adventure of living in Hollywood.

A loving and friendly puppy, he meets actors, policemen, robbers, and even has a part in a movie! His great joy is romping on the beach, running in big circles, and meeting other dogs and people. In the first three months of his life, Burney wards off a robber with deadly intent; is frightened by a monkey during an audition; breaks two toes when a woman with spiked heels steps on him; and is sprayed by a skunk. During a romp in Griffith Park, Burney makes a gruesome discovery and inadvertently helps the local police department solve a murder investigation, leading him to become an honorary member of the K-9 Platoon. This little pup has lived an exciting life—and it’s only just begun!

My Review:

In this book, you will meet Burney, a shih Tzu puppy who was born in the Midwest and sold to a pet store in Beverly Hills. 

You will follow his story as he is adopted by Stacey and learns to adapt to his crazy new lifestyle.

His life is like so many of the new dreamers who flock to Hollywood.  He has his ups and downs, has the once in a lifetime chance to become famous,

This is a cute book and would be great for readers between the ages of 8 - 12. 

Thank you to the author, who provided a copy of the book for my honest review.  All opinions are my own.